My Favorite Bread

As I mentioned in an earlier post, most commercial gluten-free bread which has already been baked is too heavy, too hard, too dense, and tastes either bland or just plain bad, in my experience.  After searching high and low for decent gluten-free bread since my diagnosis and being disappointed with almost every offering in that area, I’m happy to say that the search is over because I now bake my own.  Whole Foods carries a store brand called “365 Everyday Value” which offers a large variety of products, from baby care to tofu.  My favorite bread mix is the 365 Everyday Value Sandwich Bread Mix which is light, soft, and delicious.  Sometimes I bake it as it comes out of the package but every once in a while I mix things up a bit and my favorite variety of this bread so far is the rosemary bread.

Rosemary Bread

1 package 365 Everyday Value Gluten-Free Sandwich Bread Mix
1 3/4 cup lukewarm water
4 tbsp butter, melted
2 large eggs
1 tbsp minced garlic
1/4 cup freshly grated parmesan
10 “branches” fresh rosemary, cut fine
olive oil

Follow the baking directions on the package carefully, but mix the garlic and most of the rosemary and parmesan into the dough before letting it sit and rise.  Use two 8×8 inch baking pans which are 2 inches deep.  After the dough has risen cut a large “X” into the dough.  Brush the dough with olive oil and sprinkle the rest of the parmesan and rosemary on top, then bake.

365 Everyday Value Sandwich Bread Mix

365 Everyday Value Sandwich Bread Mix

Published in: on October 3, 2009 at 1:19 PM  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://comstockmanor.wordpress.com/2009/10/03/my-favorite-bread/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

